Competitive Examination Notes - 013

Share it:

Competitive Examination Notes |  Competitive Examination Notes for LDC Competitive Examination Notes for IAS Competitive Examination Notes HSST | Competitive Examination Notes for PSC Exam | Competitive Examination Notes for IPS | Competitive Examination Notes for SSC Exam | Competitive Examination Notes for RRB Exam | Competitive Examination Notes for Download | Competitive Examination Notes Free Download Competitive Examination Notes for U 
India Post - 01

India has the largest postal network in the world. Lord Clive in 1766 started the postal system in India. Further development took place during the period of Warren Hasting. In 1774, Warren Hastings established the Culcutta G.P.O under a Postmastre General. In the other Presidencies of Madras and Bombay, the General Post Offices came into existance in 1786 and 1793 respectively. The Act of 1837 first regulated the Post Office on a uniform basis to unite the post office organisation throughout the three Presidencies into one all-India Service. The Post Office Act of 1854 reformed the entire postal system, and on 1st October 1854 the Post Office of India attained its present administrative setup. The present governing system of Indian Postal Service is based on Indian Postal Act of 1898. The Money Order Stystem came into existence in India by the year 1880, and Speed Post System in 1986. As per 2011 statistics there are 1,54,866 post offices are functioning all over India. On an average, a Post Office serves an area of 21.23 Sq.Km and a population of 7,114 people.
India is a member of the Universal Postal Union (UPU) since 1876 and of the Asian Pacific Postal Union (APPU) since 1964. These organisations aim at extending, facilitating and improving postal relations amoung other countries. India exchanges mail with more than 217 countries by air and surface.

PIN Code
Postal Indux Number (PIN) is a 6 digit code. There are 9 PIN zones in India, including 8 regional zones and 1 functional zone. The first digit indicates one of the regions. The first 2 digits together indicate the sub region or one of the Postal Circle. The first 3 digits together indicate a sorting / revenue district. The last 3 digits refer to the delivery Post Office.
First Digit represent the Postal Zone in Pincode. There are 9 Postal Zones in India.
1 - Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh 2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 - Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 - Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
6 - Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 - Odisha, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam
8 - Bihar, Jharkhand
9 - Army Post office (APO) and Field Post office (FPO)
Sub regions indicated by first 2 digits of PIN
11:-  Delhi 
12 and 13 :-  Haryana 
14 to 15 :- Punjab 
16 :- Chandigarh 
17 :- Himachal Pradesh 
18 to 19 :- Jammu and Kashmir 

20 to 28 :- Uttar Pradesh/Uttrakhand 
30 to 34 :- Rajasthan 
36 to 39 :- Gujarat 
40 :-  Goa 
40 to 44 :- Maharastra 
45 to 48 :- Madhya Pradesh 
49 :- Chhattisgarh 
50 to 53 :- Andhra Pradesh 
56 to 59 :- Karnataka 
60 to 64 :- Tamil Nadu 
67 to 69 :- Kerala 
682 :-  Lakshadweep (Islands) 
70 to 74 :- West Bengal 
744 :- Andaman and Nicobar Islands 
75 to 77 :- Odisha 
78 :- Assam 
79 :- Arunachal Pradesh 
793, 794, 783123 :- Meghalaya 
795 :-  Manipur 
796 :-  Mizoram 
799 :-  Tripura 
80 to 85 :- Bihar and Jharkhand 

Attention Please :- Dear Readers do U have any PSC Previous Question Papers with You ? If Yes Just e-mail Me - OR

Email Newsletter
Join Over 2000+ Subscribers ! Get Our Latest Articles Delivered to Your email Inbox
When signing up you will initially receive a confirmation email requiring your approval to complete the Subscription.
Share it:

Competitive Examination Notes

Expected Questions



Kerala PSC Questions


Post A Comment: